Sad and Wonderful

by wjohngalloway

I drifted on to the website of the excellent Jim Campilongo after watching a slightly strange demo he did of the new Fender Princeton ’65 reissue.
Reading the page where he cites his influences got me thinking about Roy Buchanan, who died in “suspicious” circumstances in a police cell. I’ve always thought about him as a player who influenced folk but I’ve never really got him. Well today I chucked his self titled 1972 album on the iPhone and it’s a mixture of country, undeveloped ideas, bum notes and glimpses of absolute genius. “The Messiah Will Come Again” is just plain weird, but at a rough count I’ve listened to it a dozen times today and welled up a good few times.
Buchanan had some serious issues, but somewhere in there was a world changing talent fighting to get out.

I’m moved and sad we didn’t get all he had to give.

