Want Inspiration?

by wjohngalloway

So what, after the apathy and self doubt that’s so plagued me recently, got me motivated enough yesterday to go for a hill run in the first place?

Simple really, I started re-reading Nanga Parbat Pilgrimage by Hermann Buhl, which seems inexplicably out of print. There’s a 1982 paperback version currently going for £200 on Amazon marketplace!
For an insight into the simple joy and self exploration that mountains offer it’s the best book I’ve ever come across and was an inspiration for a multitude of hill men from the sainted Sir Chris B downwards to donkeys like me. I think it’s the only book I’ve read more than TLOTR (and that was mostly pre-pubescent!) Hell, it almost makes me acknowledge the spiritual nature of the hills! (don’t tell though).
If you haven’t read it, do so, using the library if you don’t have the cash to spare……or leave me a kidney as deposit if you need to borrow my dog-eared copy.

Some info on Herr Buhl

German Language Site (the gallery is splendid)

Wikipedia Entry

8000m.com

his 1953 solo summit push on Nanga Parbat is so far beyond the same year’s first ascent of Everest as an achievement that it’s not fair to compare the two.

